VehicleCheckPK

Vehicle transfer of ownership in Pakistan: what Islamabad, Punjab and Sindh require in 2026

17 min read ยท Facts checked

In Islamabad, the buyer must report a transfer of ownership within 30 days. Both buyer and seller give biometrics, and the vehicle is physically inspected. Punjab has required biometric verification through NADRA's PAK-ID app since early 2026. Excise Sindh publishes a transfer fee table, from Rs 500 for a motorcycle to Rs 7,000 for a car above 3000cc, and a per-day penalty for a late transfer. If an Islamabad record shows HPA, the bank must endorse the transfer before ownership can move. Punjab's fees are not settled: it publishes two conflicting tables. We could not establish the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa process.

A transfer is handled by the excise department that holds the registration, and each province runs its own. We verified what three of them publish. Islamabad publishes its rules, including what happens when the seller has died or is abroad. Punjab changed its process in 2026, so any transfer checklist written before then is out of date. Sindh publishes its transfer fee and a schedule of penalties for a late transfer, but not the steps.

RequirementIslamabadPunjabSindh
Deadline, and whose duty30 days. The law puts it on the buyer.Not verified by usNot stated in days on its site. A per-day penalty runs once a transfer is late; for motorcycles and rickshaws it starts after 15 days.
Biometric verificationBuyer and sellerThrough the NADRA PAK-ID app, since early 2026Its lookup result is built to show a pending transfer with a biometric date. The site does not describe the step.
Physical inspectionRequiredNot verified by usThe form's office note records the vehicle being checked; an inspection report is listed for commercial vehicles.
CostTransfer page tables stamped 2019. Confirm at the office.Two official tables disagree: Rs 2,750 or Rs 4,540 for a car up to 1000ccPublished table: Rs 500 for a motorcycle, Rs 1,600 to Rs 7,000 for a car by engine size, Rs 800 for a rickshaw
Non-filersThree times the filer rate of advance taxNot verified by us for transfersNot verified by us for transfers
Bank finance (HPA)The bank must endorse the transfer. Recording the release, HPT, costs nothing.Not verified by usThe transfer form has an endorsement block in which the hire-purchase party consents to the transfer.

What is the car transfer procedure in Islamabad?

Islamabad is the register our lookup answers, and the one we researched most closely. An Islamabad transfer comes down to five requirements. We list them as requirements, not as a verified order of counters.

Owner-linked number plates are not confirmed In July 2025 Islamabad announced a policy linking number plates to owners. We found no gazette notification and no 2026 confirmation that it is in force, and the department's own transfer pages still describe an ordinary transfer with no surrender of the number. We are not treating it as in force. If it matters to your sale, ask at the office.

Who is responsible for the transfer, the buyer or the seller?

In Islamabad the law answers this plainly: the buyer. The 30-day duty to report a transfer of ownership sits with the transferee, not the seller.

The practical position is less comfortable for the seller. Until the transfer is done, the register still names the seller, whoever is driving the car. A seller who hands over the keys and the file and walks away is relying on the buyer to finish the job.

In Islamabad the seller cannot fully step away in any case, because the transfer needs the seller's biometrics as well as the buyer's. The sensible arrangement is to agree, before money changes hands, when both of you will go to the office.

What if the seller has died or lives abroad?

Islamabad Excise publishes what it will take instead. If the seller has died, it takes the heirs' documents and biometrics. If the seller is abroad, it takes the seller's consent attested by the consulate.

Ask for these by name at the office. We have not verified an equivalent for Punjab, Sindh or Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. That does not mean none exists.

How much does it cost to transfer a car in Islamabad?

We are not printing a rupee total, and the reason is the department's own pages. What we can tell you is what goes into the bill and where the official sources disagree.

Advance tax, filer or non-filer
Non-filers pay three times the filer rate of advance tax on an Islamabad transfer. The department's own transfer page still shows older, lower figures, and both of its tables are stamped 2019. Do not budget from those tables.
Capital value tax
Islamabad and Punjab both publish capital value tax at 1% of the vehicle's value, with 10% depreciation in that value for each year. In Islamabad it applies to cars above 1300cc, or at 1300cc and above, depending on which of its pages you read. Its fee schedule says it applies to new registrations and transfers, and stops after five financial years. As an illustration only: on a vehicle valued at Rs 5,000,000, 1% is Rs 50,000 before any depreciation.
The vehicle's age
Age can reduce the advance tax. The two official sources we found describe this differently, so it has its own section below.

Islamabad's own sources disagree Islamabad's calculator for new registrations does not apply the five-year capital value tax exemption that its fee schedule describes. Its pages also disagree on whether the tax applies to a car of exactly 1300cc: the transfer page says at or above, while the fee schedule and the calculator say above. And the department's calculators carry its own warning that the information may be partially or completely incorrect or not up to date. Use the tools on the Islamabad Excise website as a guide, and get the total confirmed at the office.

Does an older car pay less advance tax on transfer?

Often, yes. But the two official sources we found do not say the same thing.

Punjab's rates page
Says the rate of advance tax collected on a transfer under section 231B(2) is reduced by 10% for each year from the date of first registration in Pakistan.
Islamabad's post-registration fee calculator
Charges no advance tax on a transfer once the vehicle is five years past its registration.

We have not found an official page that reconciles the two. For a car more than a few years old, ask at the counter whether any advance tax applies at all, and whether you are being charged as a filer or a non-filer, before you agree a price that assumes either.

Is biometric verification required to transfer a vehicle in Punjab?

Yes. Punjab now requires biometric verification through the NADRA PAK-ID app to register or transfer a vehicle. It came in early 2026, and any transfer checklist written before then is out of date.

That includes one on the department's own website. Its vehicle registration page still lists transfer requirements with no mention of biometric verification. A buyer and seller who prepared from that page alone would miss the step the process now needs.

We have not verified the rest of Punjab's current transfer paperwork against an official source published since the change, so we are not listing it. Ask your excise office what to bring before you go.

What is the vehicle transfer fee in Punjab?

Punjab Excise publishes two different transfer fee tables on its own website, and they disagree.

Official Punjab Excise pageTransfer fee, car up to 1000ccHow it is dated
The motor vehicle tax rates pageRs 4,540Carries 2026-27 token tax columns
A second page on the same siteRs 2,750No date

This is not a rounding difference. The two tables differ by the same proportion in every band. We cannot tell you which figure your office will charge, so get the total at the counter. Any site quoting a single Punjab transfer fee has not resolved this conflict. The department has not resolved it either.

Punjab's rates page also says that a car up to 1000cc transferred within ten years of registration is charged Rs 20,000 in lifetime token tax, with a rebate equal to 10% for each financial year. Ask whether it applies to your car when you get the total.

Can you transfer a car that is still on bank finance?

Not without the bank. HPA on an Islamabad record means Hire Purchase Agreement: the vehicle is under bank finance. The bank has to endorse the transfer form before ownership can move, so a private sale cannot complete without involving the bank. The release is called HPT, and it costs nothing.

If you are buying, check for HPA before you pay, not after. On an Islamabad plate it shows in the excise record. We verified these rules for Islamabad. Sindh's transfer form points the same way: it carries an endorsement block in which the party to the hire-purchase agreement consents to the transfer. What HPA and HPT mean on a vehicle record.

What should a buyer check before the transfer?

A transfer moves the registration. It does not prove the vehicle is what the papers say. Do these before any money moves.

An old tax date is a reason to ask, not a verdict The department says token tax paid at a post office may not reach its computer record, and that you have to go in to have the record updated. Its own title for the cancellation list is vehicles cancelled due to incomplete information and tax default, so an entry is not proof of unpaid tax either. Get it resolved before the transfer, not after.

Check an Islamabad plate now

Islamabad is the one register we can answer, and you need only the plate. For a vehicle registered anywhere else this box will not find it, and an empty result means we did not look.

Any format works, ABC-1234 or abc 1234.

Registration date (optional, helps Islamabad)

Just the year narrows it; the month narrows it more; the exact date is instant. It is printed on the registration card.

For the full pre-purchase list, see used car checks in Pakistan. Traffic challans are a separate record that our lookup does not check: how e-challan checks work.

How does vehicle transfer work in Sindh?

Excise Sindh does not publish a step-by-step transfer procedure. It does publish three things we can stand behind: the transfer fee, the penalty for transferring late, and the form itself. We read all three on its website on 8 October 2026.

What is the vehicle transfer fee in Sindh?

VehicleTransfer fee
Motorcycle or scooterRs 500
RickshawRs 800
Car or jeep up to 800ccRs 1,600
Car or jeep, 801cc to 1500ccRs 2,000
Car or jeep, 1501cc to 2000ccRs 3,000
Car or jeep, 2001cc to 3000ccRs 5,000
Car or jeep above 3000ccRs 7,000
Heavy transport vehicleRs 4,000

That is the Motor Vehicle Transfer Fee table on Excise Sindh's Motor Vehicle Tax page. So a car up to 800cc, which covers a Mehran, pays Rs 1,600, and a 1300cc car pays Rs 2,000. The page adds its own caveat, that charges can depend on vehicle type, value, engine capacity, registration status and the date of the transaction, and asks you to review the calculated amount before paying. Its four-wheeler calculator also applies transfer charges to a new registration when the invoice or import documents are not in the applicant's name. The lookup result has a Transfer Fee Details block of its own, but for the car we checked on 8 October 2026 it read 'Fee information is not available', so do not count on it for a quote.

What is the penalty for a late transfer in Sindh?

Engine capacityPenalty per dayMaximum
Up to 1000ccRs 200Rs 30,000
1001cc to 1300ccRs 300Rs 60,000
1301cc to 2000ccRs 400Rs 75,000
2001cc to 2500ccRs 500Rs 100,000
2501cc to 3000ccRs 1,000Rs 300,000
3001cc and aboveRs 2,000Rs 500,000
Motorcycle, scooter or rickshawRs 50Rs 10,000

Excise Sindh published this schedule as updated vehicle transfer penalty rates on 13 February 2025. For motorcycles, scooters and rickshaws the notice says the penalty applies once the default exceeds fifteen days. For cars it runs per day from the end of what the notice calls the required timeframe, which it does not state in days. At Rs 200 a day, a car up to 1000cc reaches its Rs 30,000 cap after 150 days. Ask the office what the deadline is rather than assuming Islamabad's 30 days applies.

What does the Sindh transfer form ask for?

The form is Form T.O., Information of Transfer of Ownership of a Motor Vehicle, which the department lists among its motor vehicle forms with a December 2017 date. It cites section 35 of the Motor Vehicles Ordinance 1965 and rule 47. Its office note lists the documents the examining officer expects:

The form predates the biometric step Nothing on the 2017 form mentions biometrics, yet Excise Sindh's online lookup is built to warn of a pending transfer and show its biometric date, so the current process evidently includes a biometric step the form does not describe. We have not found an official page that explains where or how it is done. Ask the excise office that holds the registration before you go, and check the Sindh page for what the department's lookup shows.

How does vehicle transfer work in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa?

We could not establish the transfer process for Khyber Pakhtunkhwa from official sources, so this guide does not describe one. We would rather say that than repeat a checklist we cannot stand behind. We could not confirm that the province has a working online lookup at all: the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa page sets out what we could confirm.

How do you give biometrics for a car transfer?

It depends on the register, and in two of the three we checked the official page names the requirement without describing the counter.

Islamabad
The department's transfer checklist asks for a verified and valid biometric receipt titled Transfer of Ownership from the seller as well as the purchaser, so the biometrics are taken before the file is submitted and produce a receipt. Where heirs transfer a deceased seller's vehicle, each heir's receipt is titled Purchaser Biometric. The page does not say where the biometrics are taken; its Information Desk is the place to ask.
Punjab
Through the NADRA PAK-ID app, since early 2026. The department's own registration page still lists transfer requirements without it.
Sindh
The department's lookup result is built to show a pending transfer with its biometric date, so a biometric step exists and is dated per vehicle. Its website does not describe it.

If you are buying across a provincial line, note that a vehicle can move between registers. Punjab announced re-registration of vehicles registered outside Punjab in January 2026. The letters on the plate will not tell you which register it sits in: why plate letters do not identify a province.

What we could not establish

Common questions

Why should a seller make sure the transfer is completed?
Because until it is done, the register still names the seller. In Islamabad the law gives the buyer 30 days and puts the duty to report the transfer on the buyer, so a buyer who never does it leaves the register naming the seller. Islamabad also needs the seller's biometrics for a transfer, so agree when you will both go to the office before you hand over the keys.
Do non-filers pay more when transferring a car?
In Islamabad, yes. Non-filers pay three times the filer rate of advance tax on a transfer. The department's own transfer page still shows older, lower figures, and both of its tables are stamped 2019, so confirm the amount at the office before you budget. The vehicle's age can also reduce the advance tax. We have not verified a separate non-filer transfer figure for Punjab.
Do I need the PAK-ID app to transfer a car in Punjab?
Yes. Punjab requires biometric verification through the NADRA PAK-ID app to register or transfer a vehicle, a requirement introduced in early 2026. Any transfer checklist written before 2026 is out of date, including the requirements still listed on the department's own vehicle registration page, which do not mention biometric verification. Ask your excise office what else to bring before you go.
What does HPT mean when transferring a vehicle?
HPT is the release of a Hire Purchase Agreement. On an Islamabad record, HPA means the vehicle is under bank finance, and the bank has to endorse the transfer form before ownership can move. The release is recorded as HPT, and it costs nothing. We verified these rules for Islamabad only, so ask the office and the bank how it works in other provinces.
What is the transfer fee for a car in Sindh?
Excise Sindh's published table: Rs 1,600 for a car or jeep up to 800cc, Rs 2,000 from 801cc to 1500cc, Rs 3,000 from 1501cc to 2000cc, Rs 5,000 from 2001cc to 3000cc and Rs 7,000 above that. A motorcycle pays Rs 500, a rickshaw Rs 800 and a heavy transport vehicle Rs 4,000. The department's page adds that charges can depend on vehicle type, value, registration status and the transaction date, so review the amount it calculates before paying.
Is there a penalty for transferring a vehicle late in Sindh?
Yes, per day, with a cap. Excise Sindh's schedule of 13 February 2025 charges Rs 200 a day for a car up to 1000cc, capped at Rs 30,000, rising by engine size to Rs 2,000 a day above 3000cc, capped at Rs 500,000. Motorcycles, scooters and rickshaws pay Rs 50 a day, capped at Rs 10,000, once the default exceeds fifteen days. The notice does not state the deadline for a car in days, so ask the office.
How do I give biometrics for a car transfer?
In Punjab, through the NADRA PAK-ID app. In Islamabad, both seller and purchaser need a verified biometric receipt titled Transfer of Ownership before the file is submitted; the department's page does not say where it is taken, so ask its Information Desk. In Sindh, the department's lookup is built to show a pending transfer with its biometric date, but its website does not describe the step.
Is the Islamabad plate lookup enough to check a car before transfer?
It is one check, not all of them. From the plate alone it shows the Islamabad excise record, including make, model, engine and chassis numbers, registration date and token tax status. Use it to match the numbers on the vehicle and to spot HPA or an old tax date. It does not check challans, stolen status or any other province's register.

Read next

VehicleCheckPK is independent and not affiliated with any government department. The excise departments and police forces named here hold the authoritative records; for any legal purpose, confirm with them directly.